top of page
  • Writer's pictureDEEPA KANSRA

The Fire Element: Aries, Leo, Saggitarius


Fire, water, air, earth are the elements that define the universe.


According to Sepharial, the four elements i.e. fire, air, water and earth correspond to spirit, mind, soul and body of man, and are symbolical of the spiritual, mental, psychic, and physical process within him. (Sepharial)

The elements have been studied since ancient times. Philosophers like Plato and Aristotle wrote about nature, human body and the four elements of fire, water, air and earth. Plato referred to the four elements of air, water, fire and earth as the basis of nature and man. (Peter Moons).

In the modern context, in the field of medicine and healing, the imbalance of the elements in the body is seen as the cause for ailments and other problems. Treatments are advised in order to overcome the imbalance.

In environmental philosophy, ecological imbalances are viewed as a result of the imbalance in the four elements. Studies in ecological philosophy emphasize on the need for a renewed understanding of the elements - FIRE, EARTH, WATER, AIR. Experts argue that pollution and ecological imbalances are a result of "domestication" of the elements by humans (fossil fuels, use of fire for technological advancement...) (David Macauley)

In esoteric terms, a harmony between the elements is the key to realizing a fulfilling and harmonious life.


The fire element, also called the third element, burns inside all human and non-human forms. To humans, fire element causes vitality and life force to the body, mind and soul. Also, fire causes the process of transmutation, purification and destruction of matter. What fire does is also what makes it unique.

While being unique, fire is also deeply related with the other elements. The element of ether creates the space for fire to exist, and air provides fire the capacity to burn. Water element keeps fire from turning destructive. (Marc Halpern)


In astrology, the zodiac signs of Aries, Leo and Saggitarius are the fire signs. The fire signs have the energy to transform, transmute, rise and execute. Going back to ideas of Plato, fire is all consuming and transformational, for it changes what ever comes in touch with it (Peter Moons).

In an individual birth chart, the prominence of fire signs including concentration of planets in them will create a noticeable "fiery personality". The rulership of the three signs is with Mars, Sun and Jupiter.


The deeper meaning behind the fire signs can also be seen from the fact that all Ketu ruled nakshatras are located in the sign of Aries, Leo and Saggitarius. These include Ashvini in Aries, Magha in Leo and Mula in the sign of Saggitarius.

The spiritual fire and energy of Ketu can be highly destructive if not utilized with skill and method.


In esoteric terms, fire ignites the light which then dispels the darkness. Many would recommend a fire meditation for energizing the Solar plexus chakra. The same also helps in strengthening mental concentration and energizing the intellect.

Many have their self styled fire rituals. On a full moon night, I often write down my worries and flaws on a piece of paper. I then burn the paper with the hope that the fire will destroy all that no longer serves any purpose.


Do you have a fiery personality?

Can the elements be tamed?


Peter Moons, Plato and Aristotle: Nature, The Four Elements...

David Macauley, Elemental Philosophy, 2010.

Marc Halpern, The Five Elements: Fire in Ayurveda, 2010.

Sepharial, The Language of the Heavens.

bottom of page